Farewell, Jack Dancer..'twas a pleasure

This week saw the last ever outing for Red Seas, in 2000ad.

And it was a great sendoff too, for Jack Dancer and his merry men. The last panel was really beautifully rendered (including Erebus’ cheeky wink at us). Out of all the other line-up this was the one which i looked forward to most every week and so it saddens me to see it all come to an end. I’m quite new to the world of Red Seas but this strip (besides all the Judge Dredd stuff) caught my imagination like no other, except for maybe Brass Sun – also by Ian Edginton. I really enjoyed Steve Yeowell’s b&w artwork, there was always something which caught my eyes every week. The main reason why i suppose i loved Red Seas was because it evoked so many fond memories of all the Harryhausen films i loved as a kid, whether Sinbad, Clash of the Titans or Jason and the Argonauts. And for that alone, i will miss it.

Farewell Jack, and have a drink on me.

