Lilly MacKenzie and the Mines of Charybdis

Lilly MacKenzie and the Mines of Charybdis

I read a marvellous web comic the other day, Lilly MacKenzie and the Mines of Charybdis, by Simon Fraser (co-creator of Nikolai Dante; one of 2000AD’s most famous characters).

I encountered Lilly MacKenzie in The Judge Dredd Megazine where it was serialized, but alas, I just had a copy of one issue at the time (#304), and immediately wanted more upon finishing. But the Meg also had an interview with Simon Fraser and whilst reading it I found out that Lilly MacKenzie was originally a web comic so immediately I looked for it online. And when I did find it much to my delight, what followed was maybe 40 minutes of non-stop thrilling, funny, and moving science fiction roller coaster! I absolutely loved Lilly! Simon had created a story with characters you genuinely care for, from Lilly MacKenzie to the pink haired dwarf ‘Cosmos’, and some mouthwatering visuals; some of his sci-fi landscapes/ decor are a delight to behold. If I thought his work on Nikolai Dante was breathtaking, then here it was equally as great. Upon finishing it I wanted to know if it was collected in trade format. Thanks to my friends over at 2000AD online I learnt there was, but it was a limited run and therefore hard to find now. Thankfully Simon Fraser replied to a few of the messages I left at his website, he was kind enough to tell me that a hardcover release of Lilly MacKenzie’s first adventure is being planned, so fingers crossed! Also I was delighted to learn from him that we will hopefully see the new series of Lilly MacKenzie coming soon to Judge Dredd Megazine. That news was a joy to behold, those who have read this excellent comic will understand my excitement. But if you haven’t, then head on down to Simon’s website to find out for yourself right now!

http://activatecomix.com/9.comic

Leave a Reply

